European Footballer of the Year 1961

In 1961 the Ballon d'Or was won by Omar Sivori. The diminutive attacker helped Juventus capture their second consecutive Italian league championship that year (the club's third Serie A title in four years), personally scoring 25 goals in 27 games along the way.

Embed from Getty Images
March 1961: Omar Sivori on the bal for Juventus against AC Milan

Sivori being voted European Footballer of the Year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 19 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, England, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 12th, 1961.

   Name  Country  Club
 Omar Sivori  Italy [1]  Juventus
 Luis Suárez  Spain  Inter Milan
 Johnny Haynes  England  Fulham 22
 Lev Yashin  Soviet Union  Dinamo Moscow 21
 Ferenc Puskas  Hungary  Real Madrid 16
 Alfredo di Stefano  Spain [2]  Real Madrid 13
 Uwe Seeler  West Germany  Hamburger SV 13
 John Charles  Wales  Juventus 10
 Francisco Gento  Spain  Real Madrid 7
 José Aguas  Portugal  Benfica 5
   Gyula Grosics  Hungary  Tatabanya 5
 Gerhard Hanappi  Austria  Rapid Vienna 5
 Bobby Charlton  England  Manchester United 5
 Josef Masopust  Czechoslovakia  Dukla Prague 5
 José Santamaría  Spain  Real Madrid 5
 Dragoslav Sekularac  Yugoslavia  Red Star Belgrade 5
 Danny Blanchflower  Northern Ireland  Tottenham Hotspur 4
 Kurt Hamrin  Sweden  Fiorentina 4
 Mikhail Meskhi  Soviet Union  Dinamo Tbilisi 4
 Viktor Ponedelnik  Soviet Union  SKA Rostov-on-Don 4
 Horst Szymaniak  West Germany  Catania 4
 Germano da Figueiredo  Portugal  Benfica 4
 José Pinto de Almeida  Portugal  Benfica 3
   Slava Metreveli  Soviet Union  Dinamo Moscow 3
   Max Morlock  West Germany  1. FC Nürnberg 3
 Horst Nemec  Austria  Austria Vienna 3
   Denis Law  Scotland  Torino 3
 Pierre Bernard  France  Nîmes Olympique 2
   Alberto Costa Pereira  Portugal  Benfica 2
   Gert Dörfel  West Germany  Hamburger SV 2
   Norbert Eschmann  Switzerland  Stade Français 2
   Jimmy Greaves  England  Chelsea 2
   Lucien Muller  France  Stade de Reims 2
   Lajos Tichy  Hungary  Honved Budapest 2
 Charles Antenen  Switzerland  La Chaux-de-Fonds 1
   Mario Coluna  Portugal  Benfica 1
   Eusebio  Portugal  Benfica 1
   Gernot Fraydl  Austria  Austria Vienna 1
   Karl Köller  Austria  First Vienna 1
   Rudolf Kucera  Czechoslovakia  Dukla Prague 1
   Dumitru Macri  Romania  Rapid Bucharest 1
   Jimmy McIlroy  Northern Ireland  Burnley 1
   Karl Stotz  Austria  Austria Vienna 1

1960European Footballer of the Year1962

#1: Omar Sivori was born in Argentina, and had previously made international appearances for that country, but now played for Italy.
#2: Alfredo di Stefano was born in Argentina, and had previously made international appearances for Argentina and Columbia, but now played for Spain.

Back to top...