European Footballer of the Year 1963

In 1963 the Ballon d'Or was won by Lev Yashin. The legendary goalkeeper won the Soviet Championship with Dinamo Moscow that year. Yashin also drew attention to himself at a match held in honour of the Football Association's centenary, pulling of a number of excellent saves for the Rest of the World XI against England at Wembley. Earlier he had been victorious with the Soviet Union at the 1956 Olympics and the 1960 European Championship.

Embed from Getty Images
October 1963: Lev Yashin in action against England on behalf of 'The rest of the World'.

Yashin being voted European Footballer of the Year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 21 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, England, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 17th, 1963.

 Name  Country  Club
 Lev Yashin  Soviet Union  Dinamo Moscow
 Gianni Rivera  Italy  AC Milan
 Jimmy Greaves  England  Tottenham Hotspur 51
 Denis Law  Scotland  Manchester United 45
 Eusebio  Portugal  Benfica 19
 Karl-Heinz Schnellinger  West Germany  Mantova 16
 Uwe Seeler  West Germany  Hamburger SV 9
 Bobby Charlton  England  Manchester United 5
 Giovanni Trapattoni  Italy  AC Milan 5
 Luis Suárez  Spain  Inter Milan 5
 Jose Altafini  Italy  AC Milan 4
12.  Omar Sivori  Italy [1]  Juventus 3
 Florian Albert  Hungary  Ferencváros 3
 Harry Bild  Sweden  IFK Norrköping 3
   Josef Masopust  Czechoslovakia  Dukla Prague 3
 Paul van Himst  Belgium  Anderlecht 3
 Jef Jurion  Belgium  Anderlecht 2
 Karoly Sandor  Hungary  MTK Budapest 2
 Robert Herbin  France  AS Saint-Etienne 2
 Cesare Maldini  Italy  AC Milan 2
21.  Mario Coluna  Portugal  Benfica 1
 Ake Johansson  Sweden  IFK Norrköping 1
 Manfred Kaiser  East Germany  Wismut Aue 1
 Metin Oktay  Turkey  Galatasaray 1
 Svatopluk Pluskal  Czechoslovakia  Dukla Prague 1

1962European Footballer of the Year1964

#1: Omar Sivori was born in Argentina, and had previously made international appearances for Argentina, but now played for Italy.

Back to top...