European Footballer of the Year 1965

In 1965 the Ballon d'Or was won by Eusebio. The prolific striker won a third straight Portuguese title with Benfica that year and made it to the final of the European Cup. Eusebio was also top scorer of the Portugese league for the second year in a row and helped his adopted country qualify for the 1966 World Cup.

Embed from Getty Images
January 1965: Eusebio before a training of the Portugal national squad

Eusebio being voted European Footballer of the Year was the result of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 21 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, England, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 28th, 1965.

 Name  Country  Club
1.  Eusebio  Portugal  Benfica 67
2.  Giacinto Facchetti  Italy  Inter Milan 59
3.  Luis Suárez  Spain  Inter Milan 45
4.  Paul van Himst  Belgium  Anderlecht 25
5.  Bobby Charlton  England  Manchester United 19
 Florian Albert  Hungary  Ferencváros 14
7.  Gianni Rivera  Italy  AC Milan 10
8.  Georgi Asparukhov  Bulgaria  Levski Sofia 9
 Alessandro Mazzola  Italy  Inter Milan 9
 Valery Voronin  Soviet Union  Torpedo Moscow 9
11.  Denis Law  Scotland  Manchester United 8
12.  Karl-Heinz Schnellinger  West Germany  AC Milan 6
13.  Ferenc Puskas  Hungary  Honved Budapest 5
 Jim Baxter  Scotland  Sunderland 3
15.  Mario Corso  Italy  Inter Milan 3
 Lev Yashin  Soviet Union  Dinamo Moscow 3
17.  Amancio Amaro  Spain  Real Madrid 2
 Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich 2
 Mario Coluna  Portugal  Benfica 2
 Milan Galic  Yugoslavia  Partizan Belgrade 2
 Philippe Gondet  France  Nantes 2
 Andrej Kvasniak  Czechoslovakia  Sparta Prague 2
   Ferenc Bene  Hungary  Ujpesti Dozsa 2
 Slava Metreveli  Soviet Union  Dinamo Tbilisi 2
25.  Ivor Allchurch  Wales  Cardiff City 1
   Siegfried Held  West Germany  Borussia Dortmund 1
 Jakob Kühn  Switzerland  FC Zürich 1

1964European Footballer of the Year1966

Back to top...