European Footballer of the Year 1971

In 1971 the Ballon d'Or was won by Johan Cruyff. The mercurial Dutch attacker guided his club Ajax Amsterdam to victory in the European Cup that year. It would turn out to be the first of a hattrick of European Cups for Cruyff and his team mates.

Embed from Getty Images
Johan Cruyff (sitting second from the right) and Ajax before the 1971 European Cupfinal.

Cruyff being voted European Footballer of the Year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 26 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East Germany, England, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 28th, 1971.

 Name  Country  Club
1.  Johan Cruyff  Holland  Ajax
2.  Alessandro Mazzola  Italy  Inter Milan 57
3.  George Best  Northern Ireland  Manchester United 56
4.  Gunter Netzer  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 30
5.  Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich 27
6.  Gerd Müller  West Germany  Bayern Munich 18
 Josip Skoblar  Yugoslavia  Olympique Marseille 18
8.  Martin Chivers  England  Tottenham Hotspur 12
9.  Piet Keizer  Holland  Ajax 9
10.  Bobby Moore  England  West Ham United 7
 Ferenc Bene  Hungary  Ujpesti Dozsa 7
 Evgeni Rudakov  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kiev 6
13.  Giacinto Facchetti  Italy  Inter Milan 4
 Dimitris Domazos  Greece  Panathinaikos 4
15.  José Martinez Sánchez  Spain  Real Madrid 3
 Dragan Dzajic  Yugoslavia  Red Star Belgrade 3
 Berti Vogts  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 3
18.  Terry Cooper  England  Leeds United 2
 Francis Lee  England  Manchester City 2
 Wolfgang Overath  West Germany  1. FC Köln 2
 Wilfred van Moer  Belgium  Standard Liège 2
22.  Bobby Charlton  England  Manchester United 1
 Albert Shesternev  Soviet Union  CSKA Moscow 1

1970European Footballer of the Year1972

Back to top...