European Footballer of the Year 1972

In 1972 the Ballon d'Or was won by Franz Beckenbauer. The West German defender captained his country to an impressive victory at the European Championship that year, beating England 3-1 at Wembley en route to the tournament and making short work of the Soviet Union in the final, winning 3-0. Beckenbauer also won the German league title with Bayern Munich.

Embed from Getty Images
April 1972: Franz Beckenbauer and Bobby Moore exchange pennants

Beckenbauer being voted European Footballer of the Year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 25 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East Germany, England, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 26th, 1972. Marius Trésor was erroneously reported as having received Luigi Riva's point.

 Name  Country  Club Pts.
 Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich
 Gerd Müller  West Germany  Bayern Munich 79
 Gunter Netzer  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 79
 Johan Cruyff  Holland  Ajax 73
 Piet Keizer  Holland  Ajax 13
 Kazimierz Deyna  Poland  Legia Warsaw 6
 Gordon Banks  England  Stoke City 4
 Barry Hulshoff  Holland  Ajax 4
 Wlodzimierz Lubanski  Poland  Gornik Zabrze 4
 Bobby Moore  England  West Ham United 4
 Hristo Bonev  Bulgaria  CSKA Sofia 3
   Gerry Mühren  Holland  Ajax 3
   Murtaz Khurtsilava  Soviet Union  Dinamo Tbilisi 3
 Paul van Himst  Belgium  Anderlecht 3
 Antal Dunai  Hungary  Ujpesti Dozsa 2
 Eusebio  Portugal  Benfica 2
 Alessandro Mazzola  Italy  Inter Milan 2
 Amancio Amaro  Spain  Real Madrid 1
 Paul Breitner  West Germany  Bayern Munich 1
 Giorgio Chinaglia  Italy  Lazio Roma 1
 Dragan Dzajic  Yugoslavia  Red Star Belgrade 1
 Johnny Giles  Ireland  Leeds United 1
   John Greig  Scotland  Glasgow Rangers 1
   Johan Neeskens  Holland  Ajax 1
   Luigi Riva  Italy  Cagliari 1
   Gianni Rivera  Italy  AC Milan 1
 Evgeni Rudakov  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kiev 1

1971European Footballer of the Year1973

Back to top...