European Footballer of the Year 1974

In 1974 the Ballon d'Or was won by Johan Cruyff. That year the Dutch attacker starred as his national team put on a brilliant display of total football at the 1974 FIFA World Cup held in West Germany. In addition, 'El Salvador' guided his club FC Barcelona to their first Spanish league title in more than a decade.

Embed from Getty Images
World Cup 1974: Johan Cruyff about to score against Argentina

Cruyff being voted European Footballer of the year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 26 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East Germany, England, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 31st, 1974.

 Name  Country  Club
1.  Johan Cruyff  Holland  FC Barcelona 116
2.  Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich 105
3.  Kazimierz Deyna  Poland  Legia Warsaw 35
4.  Paul Breitner  West Germany  Bayern Munich 32
5.  Johan Neeskens  Holland  FC Barcelona 21
6.  Grzegorz Lato  Poland  Stal Mielec 16
7.  Gerd Müller  West Germany  Bayern Munich 14
8.  Robert Gadocha  Poland  Legia Warsaw 11
9.  Billy Bremner  Scotland  Leeds United 9
10.  Ralf Edström  Sweden  PSV Eindhoven 4
 Jürgen Sparwasser  East Germany  1. FC Magdeburg 4
 Berti Vogts  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 4
13.  Jan Tomaszewski  Poland  LKS Lodz 3
 Ronnie Hellström  Sweden  1. FC Kaiserslautern 3
15.  Jose Altafini  Italy  Juventus 2
 Hristo Bonev  Bulgaria  Lokomotiv Plovdiv 2
 Jerzy Gorgon  Poland  Gornik Zabrze 2
 Sepp Maier  West Germany  Bayern Munich 2
19.  Oleg Blokhin  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kiev 1
 Rainer Bonhof  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 1
 Jean-Marc Guillou  France  Angers SCO 1
 Uli Hoeness  West Germany  Bayern Munich 1
 Branko Oblak  Yugoslavia  Hajduk Split 1

1973European Footballer of the Year1975

Back to top...