European Footballer of the Year 1975

In 1975 the Ballon d'Or was won by Oleg Blokhin. Arguably the best player produced by the Soviet Union, he was a powerful striker who combined speed and athleticism with an excellent technique. That year Blokhin helped Dynamo Kiev win the European Cup Winners Cup and the European Supercup.

Embed from Getty Images
March 1975: Oleg Blokhin in action for the Soviet Union.

Blokhin being voted European Footballer of the Year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 26 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East Germany, England, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 30th, 1975.

 Name  Country  Club Pts.
1.  Oleg Blokhin  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kiev 122
2.  Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich 42
3.  Johan Cruyff  Holland  FC Barcelona 27
4.  Berti Vogts  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 25
5.  Sepp Maier  West Germany  Bayern Munich 20
6.  Ruud Geels  Holland  Ajax 18
7.  Jupp Heynckes  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 17
8.  Paul Breitner  West Germany  Real Madrid 14
9.  Colin Todd  England  Derby County 12
10.  Dudu Georgescu  Romania  Dinamo Bucharest 11
11.  Peter Lorimer  Scotland  Leeds United 9
 José Martinez Sánchez  Spain  Real Madrid 9
 Branko Oblak  Yugoslavia  Schalke 04 9
14.  Gunter Netzer  West Germany  Real Madrid 6
 Dino Zoff  Italy  Juventus 6
 Ralf Edström  Sweden  PSV Eindhoven 6
17.  Hristo Bonev  Bulgaria  Lokomotiv Plovdiv 4
 Grzegorz Lato  Poland  Stal Mielec 4
 Gerd Müller  West Germany  Bayern Munich 4
 Ivo Viktor  Czechoslovakia  Dukla Prague 4
 Josip Katalinski  Yugoslavia  Nice 4
22.  Jan Pivarnik  Czechoslovakia  Slovan Bratislava 3
23.  Leonid Burjak  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kiev 2
 Jürgen Croy  East Germany  Sachsenring Zwickau 2
 Johan Neeskens  Holland  FC Barcelona 2
 Jean-Marc Guillou  France  Nice 2
27.  João Antonio Alves  Portugal  Boavista 1
 Dragan Dzajic  Yugoslavia  Bastia 1
 Giacinto Facchetti  Italy  Inter Milan 1
 Don Givens  Ireland  Queens Park Rangers 1
 Pat Jennings  Northern Ireland  Tottenham Hotspur 1
 Allan Simonsen  Denmark  Borussia M'gladbach 1

1974European Footballer of the Year1976

Back to top...