European Footballer of the Year 1976

In 1976 the Ballon d'Or was won by Franz Beckenabuer. The West German defender led his club Bayern Munich to their third consequtive victory in the European Cup, in addition to winning the Intercontinental Cup. Beckenbauer also reached reached the final of the European Championship with his national team.

Embed from Getty Images
Beckenbauer shoots at goal during the 1976 European Cupfinal

Beckenbauer being voted European Footballer of the Year was the outcome of a ballot held among a panel of football journalists organised by the magazine France Football, with one vote coming from each of the following 26 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, East Germany, England, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, West Germany and Yugoslavia.

The result was announced in the edition dated December 28th, 1976.

 Name  Country  Club Pts.
1.  Franz Beckenbauer  West Germany  Bayern Munich 91
2.  Rob Rensenbrink  Holland  Anderlecht 75
3.  Ivo Viktor  Czechoslovakia  Dukla Prague 52
4.  Kevin Keegan  England  Liverpool 32
5.  Michel Platini  France  AS Nancy 19
6.  Anton Ondrus  Czechoslovakia  Slovan Bratislava 16
7.  Johan Cruyff  Holland  FC Barcelona 12
 Ivan Curkovic  Yugoslavia  AS Saint-Etienne 12
9.  Rainer Bonhof  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 9
 Gerd Müller  West Germany  Bayern Munich 9
 Marian Masny  Czechoslovakia  Slovan Bratislava 9
12.  Franco Causio  Italy  Juventus 7
13.  Berti Vogts  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 6
14.  Tibor Nyilasi  Hungary  Ferencváros 5
15.  Jaroslav Pollak  Czechoslovakia  Kosice 4
 Roberto Bettega  Italy  Juventus 4
 Jürgen Croy  East Germany  Sachsenring Zwickau 4
 Dudu Georgescu  Romania  Dinamo Bucharest 4
19.  Joachim Streich  East Germany  1. FC Magdeburg 3
 Oleg Blokhin  Soviet Union  Dynamo Kiev 3
21.  Gérard Janvion  France  AS Saint-Etienne 2
 Dieter Müller  West Germany  1. FC Köln 2
 Carlos Alonso González  Spain  Real Madrid 2
 Benny Wendt  Sweden  Tennis Borussia Berlin 2
 Dominique Rocheteau  France  AS Saint-Etienne 2
26.  Dominique Bathenay  France  AS Saint-Etienne 1
 Ali Cemal  Turkey  Trabzonspor 1
 Jupp Heynckes  West Germany  Borussia M'gladbach 1
 Dino Zoff  Italy  Juventus 1

1975European Footballer of the Year1977

Back to top...